The Southeastern Writing Center Association offers competitive scholarships for professionals within the southeast region attending the 2014 IWCA Collaborative at the CCCC for writing center research dissemination and/or professional development.  Individuals awarded scholarships will receive a cash award and be recognized on the SWCA website. Details and application instructions can be found below and on the SWCA website:

SWCA is currently accepting applications for the following scholarships to support professionals within the SWCA region attending the 2014 IWCA Collaborative at the CCCC in Indianapolis on March 19, 2014.

REGISTRATION Scholarships (for professionals)

Awards: Five $105 scholarships to cover the cost of the IWCA Collaborative registration fee.


Applicants for professional awards must be affiliated with a writing center in the SWCA region within twelve months of the conference for which they seek a scholarship. Affiliations can include non-writing center professionals whose work relates to writing centers (i.e., high school teachers or administrators and university/college WPAs or WAC/WID/CAC Directors). Retired directors and long-time professionals previously active within SWCA may also apply for scholarships. All non-student applicants must have active memberships in SWCA.

Application Process:

To apply for a 2014 SWCA Scholarship, please email the following materials as attachments to Dr. Karen Keaton Jackson, SWCA  Scholarship Committee Chair, at

* A written statement of 250 words articulating

1)     for which scholarship you  are applying;

2)     that you  seek that scholarship; and

3)     how receiving the scholarship might benefit you, your writing center, the region, and/or the field

*A copy of  your accepted conference proposal (if you are presenting)

Deadline: Application materials must be received no later than February 10, 2014. Scholarship recipients will be notified at least three weeks prior to the conference for which they seek a scholarship.