mickey harris

Named after its first recipient and given at every other International Writing Centers Association (IWCA) conference, the Muriel Harris Outstanding Service Award recognizes outstanding service that has benefited the international writing center community in significant and broad-based ways.

Nominations should be sent as a single PDF document with pages numbered, and should include the following materials:

  • A letter of nomination that includes the name and institution of the nominee, your personal knowledge of or experience with the nominee’s service contributions to the writing center community, and your name, institutional affiliation and email address
  • Detailed support documents (maximum of 5 pages). These may include excerpts from a curriculum vitae, workshop or published material, stories or anecdotes, or original work  by the nominee.
  • Other letters of support (optional but limited to 2)

2020 Nomination Process: Nominations will be accepted through June 30, 2020. Send nominations to MHOSA Chair, Michele Eodice (meodice@ou.edu).

Read about the history of the MHOSA in  Writing Lab Newsletter 34.7, pp. 6-7 .

Past Recipients

2020: Jon Olson

2018: Michele Eodice

2016: Paula Gillespie and Brad Hughes

2014: Clint Gardner

2010: Leigh Ryan

2006: Albert DeCiccio

2003: Pamela Childers

2000: Jeanne Simpson

1997: Byron Stay

1994: Lady Falls Brown

1991: Jeanette Harris

1987: Joyce Kinkead

1984: Muriel Harris